Episode 4: That *One Person*

Reliving the Raymond Chronicles (trust me, they get a lot more embarrassing and is a continuing saga) got me thinking about what a shitty person he would be for me to actually date. Then I realized that everyone has this person, and even the 20 year old virgin is not excluded from this. It seems that every human has that one person– relationship, crush, FWB, whatever, that they have to justify to everyone. But here’s the thing: you shouldn’t have to justify it to anyone because, face it, you spend most of the time justifying the “relationship” with yourself. No amount of your friends saying “you could do better than him*” seems to penetrate your thick skull. Now before you go off on me in your mind, I have been on both sides of the game. I’ve been the one lecturing “he’s a shitty person and you shouldn’t go back to him,” then the inevitable “why the hell are you still texting him,” and I’ve also been slapped in the face with the reality that “he’s a deadbeat doing nothing with his life and you could do a lot better.” I’ve been pretty open with my justification about Raymond, and most of it stems from the fact that he’s one of the only people that I have liked that have ever reciprocated, however little. Your one person might have a nice truck, a nice ass, a big penis, a dazzling personality (probably not though, let us be honest), or something else that apparently keeps you coming back for more, despite what everyone says. I’m not here to judge, I am just trying to be that voice of reason that you and I have grown to hate and ignore so often. Realize that it’s convenience that is keeping you around. I realize that Raymond only shows me attention when it’s convenient for him. You might only make your booty call when it’s convenient for you. And don’t worry, while I’m lecturing you I realize that I need to take my own damn advice. I am not okay with being convenient but at the same time, I realize I really don’t like the idea of being alone forever. This defiance is all fine and dandy to tell ourselves, but in all honesty as soon as you see the one person’s name on your phone, the charade starts all over again. I think the sooner we realize everyone has that one person, the quicker we can all dismiss our judgment because the heart wants what it wants, and we are all signs of that. Now go off and make your own questionable decisions with the silent judgment from your friends.

*or her, because I’m all about inclusion, boys and girls.

Leave a comment